Department of Ophthalmology
School of Medicine Queen's University


   1. Rattray Award in Ophthalmology 
   2. Professor's Prize in Ophthalmology 
   3. Barsky Prize in Ophthalmology

1. Rattray Award in Ophthalmology

 Terms: To be awarded to the second year Queen's medical student who has the highest overall standing in Ophthalmology based on a written and/or oral examination set by the Department for this pupose.

Award: $525 and the prestige of being a Rattray Award winner.

Eligibility: Any second year Queen's medical student who agrees to participate in the competition.

Criteria: The student must agree to participate in the special exam set by the Department of Ophthalmology for the Rattray Award.

Exam: An oral examination will be administered by one to two ophthalmologists from within the Department of Ophthalmology at Queen's, on a topic to be pre-determined and distributed to the competitors in advance - students will be given 2-3 weeks to read about the topic and prepare for the exam.

The student with the best performance on the oral examination will be awarded the Rattray Prize in Ophthmology for that year. The candidates will be advised by email of the winner, and the winner will receive their award from the Undergraduate Medical Education Awards Office.

Past Reciepients

 2017- Jeff Mah
2016 - Monica Mullin
2015 - Jason Kwok
2014 - Maxwell Weisbrod
2012 - Tess Sudenis
2011 - Ashley Minuk
2010 – Yaser Habeeb
2009 – Yong-Li Zhang
2008 – Rebecca Haque
2007 – Ramin Kholdebarin
2006 – Rustum Karanjia and Maria Radina
2005 – Babak Kachoei
2004 – Amir Abadir and Shadi Akhtari
2002 – Rodger Shortt
2000 – David Albiani
1999 – Paul Denton
1998 – Michael Feldman
1997 – Jeanette Dietrich
1996 – Alexandra Jevremovic

2. Professor's Prize in Ophthalmology

Terms: To be awarded to the final year student, at the Convocation ceremony, who has exhibited the greatest proficiency in Ophthalmology throughout the course of their undergraduate medical training.

Prize: The prestige of having earned the Professor's Prize in Ophthalmology.

Eligibility: All students in the graduating class of Queen's Medical School.

Criteria: The award winner will demonstrate their proficiency in ophthalmology throughout the course of medical school. They will do so by having obtained high standing on the Ophthalmology component of the Phase IIB final examination, having demonstrated competence in ophthalmology based on their performance at the Expanded Clinical Skills Fair or other clinical time spent in the Department, and having demonstrated a keen interest in ophthalmology based on their participation in ophthalmology related research. Any combination of these stated criteria may be used to judge the students to determine their overall proficiency in ophthalmology. 

Past Recipients

2017 - Kashif Visram
2016 - Ioulia Pronina
2015 - Anastasia Prokubouskaya
2014 - Sarah Felder
2013 - Jennifer Gao
2012 - Zainab Khan
2011 - Amaka Eneh
2010 - Davin Johnson
2009 – Edward Moss
2008 – David Almeida 
2007 – Andrea Leung 
2002 – Delan Jinapriya 
2000 – Paul Denton 
1999 – Olivia Dam 
1996 – Ken Fern 
1995 – Laura Ritonja 

3. Barsky Prize in Ophthalmology

Terms: To be awarded to the Queen's medical student, in any year, who obtains the highest standing in a research project related to ophthalmology, presented to Queen's Department of Ophthalmology.

Prize: $150 and the prestige of being the Barsky Prize recipient.  The winner will be invited to recieve a plaque of recognition at a Departmental function.  They will later recieve the monetary award from the Awards Office.

Eligibility: Any Queen's undergraduate medical student who participates in research with Queen's Department of Ophthalmology, and who presents their work to the Department at Grand Rounds or Resident Research Day between January 1 and May 31 of each academic year.  Presentation dates are to be coordinated with the Undergrad Director of Ophthalmology.

Judging: All medical student projects will be judged by members of the Department of Ophthalmology (at least 2 staff and 2 residents) using a standardized evaluation.  Topics for evaluation will include content, quality of presentation, individuality, self-directed learning, and scientific value.  The top project presented will be deemed the winner and awarded the prize.

Past Recipients

2017- Étienne Bérnard-Séguin
2016 - Rachel Curtis
2011 - Lin Xing
2010 - Yaseer Habeeb
2009 – Davin Johnson and Jonathan Hurst
2008 – Rebecca Haque and Mark D’Sousa
2007 - David Almeida and Rustum Karanjia
2006 - Dan Rootman
2005 - Shaun Segal
2001 – David Albiani
1999 – Paul Denton
1998 – Olivia Dam
1997 – Kayvan Amjadi
1995 – Raymond Seto